The 20 points were written with the aim of protecting the interests, rights and autonomy of the people of northern Borneo after the formation of the Malaysian Federation. A similar proposal, with some substantive differences, was made by Sarawak and is commonly referred to as the 18-point agreement. The Malayan Union was founded by the British Malaya and consists of the federated states of Perak, Selangor, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang; the unfederated Malay states of Kedah, Perlis, Kelantan, Terengganu, Johor; and the streets of Penang and Malacca. It was created in 1946 by a series of agreements between the United Kingdom and the Malayan Union. [7] The Malay Union was replaced by the Federation of Malaya on 1 February 1948 and gained independence from the Commonwealth of Nations on 31 August 1957. [5] The 20-point agreement or the 20-point memorandum is a 20-point list drawn up by North Borneo that proposes the terms of its accession to the new Federation as sabah State during the negotiations leading up to the creation of Malaysia. In the Malaysian law of the Malaysian agreement, some of the twenty points were included to varying degrees in the Constitution by Malaysia; others were accepted only orally and therefore did not obtain legal status. The 20-point agreement often serves as a point of contact among those who claim that Sabah`s rights have been eroded over time within the Federation. [1] However, for the inhabitants of Sabah and Sarawak, who are on the island of Borneo, the agreement has left many with mixed feelings. Some people in these countries have long called for secession, and in recent years the drumming of separation has only become stronger. The Malaysian agreement or the Agreement on Malaysia between the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the Federation of Malaya, North Borneo, Sarawak and Singapore was the agreement that linked Borneo, Sarawak and Singapore to the existing states of the Malaya Federation[3], the resulting Union and the name of Malaysia. [4] [5] Singapore was subsequently expelled from Malaysia and became an independent state on 9 August 1965.

[6] Following the adoption of the proposal to amend the Malaysian constitution on equality between Sabah and Sarawak in 2019, The Malaysian federal government agreed to review the treaty violation agreement with the “Malaysia Agreement Audit Select Committee” and authorized a team from working group ma63 to prepare a final report on the 1963 agreement by August 31, 2019. , which will be presented at the next meeting of the special committee.


Author cmehmet

More posts by cmehmet